Peer Review Rated
Peer Review Rated

Cobb County Probate Resources

Cobb County was established in 1832 and is located to the west of Fulton County. The county was named for the Georgia Superior Court Judge Thomas Willis Cobb, who also served as a Georgia US Representative and Senator. The city of Marietta was named after Judge Cobb’s wife Mary Moore Cobb and is the county seat. Cobb County and eight other Georgia counties were created in 1832 from land seized from the Cherokee Indians. Settlers took possession of the land in two land lotteries after the Indian Removal Act passed: the Georgia Gold Lottery and the Georgia Land Lottery. Historically, the county land was primarily rural and cities in the county, like Marietta and Roswell, supported the local economy. Roswell is now a part of Fulton County, but was originally located in Cobb County and brought prosperity to the region when the area’s largest cotton mill, the Roswell Manufacturing Company, was established. Tourism in Marietta before the Civil War was also key in supporting the economy. The Civil War was hard on the county. General William Sherman’s Union troops invaded Atlanta, passing over Kennesaw Mountain during the surge. On June 27, 1864 a battle took place on the mountain, forcing the Confederates off the mountain. Because of this loss, Union troops were in a position to occupy Marietta. This occurred on July 3rd. As in other parts of the southern United States, Cobb County struggled to regain economic stability after the Civil War. This struggle persisted throughout the early 1900’s as cities attempted to rebuild economies that were founded on dairy and cotton farming. A turn around began in 1942 when Bell Aircraft started production of B–29 bombers in Marietta. Built for use in World War II and later for the Korean War, the bomber production brought employment to the area and the population began to grow. Cobb County’s population in the 1940’s was around 38,000. Today the county has an estimated 720,000 residents. Migration from Atlanta to the residential communities of Cobb County continues to bring an affluent and culturally diverse mix to the region. Some of these communities are:

The diversity in Cobb County is evident today in industry and government, where women and African Americans have taken key positions in organizations like the Cobb County government, Kennesaw State University, Polytechnic State University and Lockheed Martin.

Cobb County is close to the Marietta office of The Libby Law Firm. With three offices, our Atlanta Business Law Firm is able to assist clients throughout northern Georgia and metro Atlanta. Our attorneys practice Estate and Probate Law, including Heir and Beneficiary Rights, Executor Responsibility and Accountability, Trust Litigation, Will Contests, Guardianships and Guardianships of Property (Conservatorships), Estate and Trust Preparation, Healthcare Directives, Powers of Attorney and Breach of Fiduciary Duty. Additionally, our lawyers are experienced in Business Formation, Partnership Litigation, Commercial and Residential Real Estate Law and Construction Law.

At The Libby Law Firm we are able to provide the personal attention you expect of a small law firm, but with the competence and experience of a large firm. We offer our clientele prompt, diligent and efficient service and are available when we are needed. Whatever your legal requirement, the attorneys at The Libby Law Firm will provide the unparalleled and tireless representation that you require and deserve. Contact us for a consultation with an experienced probate or business attorney at 1-404-445-7771.

We look forward to assisting you from any of our three convenient locations, in Marietta, Buckhead–Atlanta or Midtown–Atlanta.

Directions to Cobb County Probate Lawyers – The Libby Law Firm

Visit Our Business, Real Estate, and Construction Law Website

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

Fill out the contact form or call us at (404) 445-7771 to schedule your free consultation

Leave Us a Message